Ian Riseley is selected as 2017-18Rotary president

Ian H.S. Riseley, of the Rotary Club of Sandringham, Victoria, Australia, is the selection of the Nominating Committee for President of Rotary International in 2017-18. He will become the president-nominee on 1 October if no other candidates challenge him.

Riseley says that meaningful partnerships with corporations and other organizations are crucial to Rotary’s future.

“We have the programs and personnel and others have available resources,” says Riseley. “Doing good in the world is everyone’s goal. We must learn from the experience of the polio eradication program to maximize our public awareness exposure for future partnerships.”

Riseley is a practicing accountant and principal of Ian Riseley and Co., which specializes in advising local and international businesses, and has a strong interest in international affairs. He received the AusAID Peacebuilder Award from the Australian government in 2002 in recognition of his work in Timor-Leste. He also received the Order of Australia medal in 2006 for service to the Australian community.

“Governments see Rotary as positive representatives of a civil society,” he says. “We should work with them to advocate for peace and conflict resolution, just as we are advocating for polio eradication.”

A member since 1978, Riseley has served Rotary as treasurer, director, trustee, RI Board Executive Committee member, task force member, committee member and chair, and district governor.

He is also a former member of the Australian Polio Eradication Private Sector Campaign and a recipient of The Rotary Foundation’s Service Award for a Polio-Free World. He and his wife, Juliet, are Multiple Paul Harris Fellows, Major Donors, and Bequest Society members.

The Nominating Committee’s members are Ann-Britt Åsebol, Rotary Club of Falun-Kopparvågen, Sweden; John T. Blount, Rotary Club of Sebastopol, California, USA; Hee-Byung Chae, Rotary Club of Seoul West, Seoul, Korea; Serge Gouteyron, Rotary Club of Valenciennes-Denain aérodrome Nord, France; Frederick W. Hahn Jr., Rotary Club of Independence, Missouri, USA; Stuart B. Heal, Rotary Club of Cromwell, New Zealand; Paul Knyff, Rotary Club of Weesp (Vechtstreek-Noord), Netherlands; Masahiro Kuroda, Rotary Club of Hachinohe South, Aomori, Japan; Anne L. Matthews (chair), Rotary Club of Columbia East, South Carolina, USA; Michael D. McCullough, Rotary Club of Trenton, Michigan, USA; David D. Morgan, Rotary Club of Porthcawl, Mid Glamorgan, Wales; Gideon M. Peiper, Rotary Club of Ramat Hasharon, Israel; José Alfredo Sepúlveda, Rotary Club of Pachuca Plata, Hidalgo, Mexico; P.C. Thomas, Rotary Club of Nilgiris West, Tamil Nadu, India; Alceu Antimo Vezozzo, Rotary Club of Curitiba, Paraná, Brazil; and C. Grant Wilkins, Rotary Club of Denver, Colorado, USA.

Rotary News